Now! Do It God’s Way

20140619-110614.jpg

Disappointed, Liz walked into the balcony of her house, crying her eyes out. “Again?! What can I do to make a man stay in my life? I have exhausted all my options.” says Liz. This was meant to be a rhetorical question, when Grandma B, her next door neighbour answered it.
Liz has been with 9 men in her little life. And they’ve all acted in similar ways. As soon as they got what they wanted, they disappeared in and with the wind. Of course! What do you expect of them when they’ve gotten the milk, left without a reason to buy the cow. Liz has been fooled to think that sleeping with men could keep them. She’s been doing it her own way. Now! She’s realized that doing it her own way has brought her so much pain; it isn’t working.

Grandma B replied from her balcony, “now, do it God’s way. Do it your creator’s way! Can’t you see your own way is not working out? God, the author of relationships, set up a rule for them. When you obey the rule he set up, your life would be nothing less than glorious. You would blossom. But when you disobey his rule and do it your own way, you would end up having your heart broken.

Then Grandma B walked to meet Liz. She patted liz’s shoulder and said, ” my dear, I have been in a similar position as yours; that was when I was in my 20s. I felt like the whole world was revolving around me, until reality crept in. Back then, I slept with all the guys that came across me, thinking that would keep them. Little did I realize that they just wanted me for a night, but never loved me. I ended up leaving a part of me with every guy I slept with. That is what they call “soul tie”. This brought so much confusion into my life; I couldn’t think straight. I did this with countless guys, until one fateful day, I was tired of messing around. I was tired of being used as a tool to fulfill lust by men, and not seen as a gift to them (Prov 18:22); I was tired of giving my prized possession for free. I was damn tired!
So I went back to the manual for my life, the bible. I read scriptures related to sexual purity and marriage. Scriptures like,

1 Corinthians 6:18 ESV

Flee from sexual immorality. Every other sin a person commits is outside the body, but the sexually immoral person sins against his own body.

1 Thessalonians 4:3-5 ESV
For this is the will of God, your sanctification: that you abstain from sexual immorality; that each one of you know how to control his own body in holiness and honor, not in the passion of lust like the Gentiles who do not know God;

Hebrews 13:4 ESV

Let marriage be held in honor among all, and let the marriage bed be undefiled, for God will judge the sexually immoral and adulterous.

From then, I was determined to do it God’s way. I thought, ” if my way has been failing me, why don’t I try the author’s way?” I cried out to God to wash my slate clean, because I have always heard my mum say that he’s a God of second chances. Right there, I felt an overwhelming peace come upon me. I felt clean again. Glory to God! So I made a vow to God, wrote it on a paper, to remain celibate until marriage. Then I signed it and pasted it on my wall.

Afterwards, I made it plain on the first date, to any guy, that was interested in me , that I am not going into any sexual relations with him. If he can’t wait till marriage, then he should take a really long walk on a very short lane. Those that couldn’t wait left, but only one, the one I am married to, waited. Yes! And since then it has been glorious. It was worth the wait. God’s hands has been evident in this relationship. We have been blessed with 4 kids, married for over 38 years. It pays to do it God’s way. So my advice to you today, and those in a similar situation as yours is that, you should wait. Do it God’s way, so you won’t have a reason to regret. Do it God ‘s way so you would receive his blessing and not his curse. Imagine if God places a curse on you, who would you run to, to revert it? Therefore, do it his way, because sexual immorality breeds curses. Though you would be tempted, but remember 1 corinthians 10:13, which says, “No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.”

Convinced that she was about to make the right decision, Liz wore a smile on her face, and right there, accepted Jesus into her life by saying, “Lord Jesus, I confess with my mouth and believe with my heart that you died on the cross at Calvary that I might be forgiven and have Eternal Life in the Kingdom of Heaven. I believe that you rose from the dead and I ask you right now to come into my life and be my personal Lord and Savior. I repent of my sins and will worship you all the days of my life. Because your word is truth, I confess with my mouth that I am Born Again and cleansed by your blood. In Jesus name, Amen!” She was determined to do it the author’s way now. She just realized that she’s a gift to whomever she dates and would eventually get married to, and not a tool to fulfill lust.

Leave a Reply

