The Reality of The Spiritual Realm as it Relates to your relationship and Marriage

Originally Posted on Kisses and Hugs club
Dunamis and Sophia Okonkwo

Do you know that there is a spiritual realm? I am sure you know that. Do you know that whatever happens in the physical must of necessity have happened in the spiritual? Do you know that it is in the spiritual realm that destinies are either formed or crushed? I remember as a young believer, I had what you can call abundance of visions. God told me anything and everything through dreams and visions. That had nothing to do with how spiritual I was or not, it was just the gifts of the Spirit being expressed.

My awareness of the spiritual realm was through visions. I was an avid reader of great men of God like Kenneth Hagin, Benny Hinn, and the likes. So I had the basic understanding. I remember that the reality of demonic beings was first revealed to me through visions through the gift of discerning of spirits. I will give you a typical example I will never forget in my life.

I was a young pastor and the year was 1998. I had suddenly become a little depressed as I thought about my future and how I would survive on my meager salary with marriage staring me in the face. My mind vacillated between the providence of God and the seemingly hunger and suffering that lies ahead. One moment I would be charged up with God’s word and with a lot of faith, another time, I would be so down that I wondered whether I had not made a mistake answering the call of God in my life.

I was a brilliant writer and journalism would have been it for me. I wanted to read law, my dad wanted me to study some science subject, I ended up in Geography and Regional Planning and now I was a Pastor! Everything looked somehow! In all of that God visited me and I knew I had to answer His call over my life.

So there I was in the office, and while I read my Bible in the morning (I used to read forty chapters daily in those days) I would just doze off! Then one of those days, while I had dozed of as usual, I was in the spirit. I could see myself with my Bible in my hands and dozing off. God was going to show me exactly what was going on behind the scenes. So there I was dozing off, but I was not alone. Beside me was a little creature, more like a little monkey, and right away I knew in the spirit that was a demon.

When you are in the spirit, you get to know a lot of things. So I knew it was a demon and it was standing on the table in front of me with a dirty white handkerchief. It took the handkerchief and was fanning me to sleep. Then he would you use his mouth and blow at me a little, like you are trying to cool something hot with your breath, and then he would fan me a little more. The more it did that, the more I slept. I got the message instantly. I found myself back inside my body and I woke up with a start!

Instantly, I knew why I was getting depressed. I knew where the early morning sleep was coming from when I wanted to study God’s word. It was a dual attack. While on one hand, my mind was being attacked with doubt of God’s call over my life, on the other hand, my study time was being attacked as well, so the place where I was supposed to draw strength to tackle the depression was closed. How was I going to get out? It took the mercy of God.

Well, I stood up and my eyes cleared from that day. I rebuked the demonic activity and cursed the spirit of heaviness, which is the spirit behind depression. Needless to say, that experience of depression and dozing off early in the morning stopped.

Now listen here, I am not saying that there is demon sitting on your table! Don’t get scared, okay? God didn’t show me that experience to bring fear, as a matter of fact, I was not afraid, I was only emboldened the more that there has to be something about my life and assignment to warrant the devil trying all that.

And that is what this experience should do to you. It should energise you to stop living carelessly. It should help you to know that the spiritual realm is busier than the physical realm.

This will let you resist the devil when you find out that your eyes are clear when you are watching a Home video or world cup, but when you want to read your Bible, in less that a minute you are gone, sleeping and snoring. You almost want to conclude that one of the gifts of the spirit is sleeping, but there is nothing like that!

You see the devil doesn’t want you to read that Bible! The Bible says your eyes should not depart from that word. When Samson was caught, the first thing they went for was his eyes! How come it is when you want to pray in the spirit that you feel sleepy? How come it is when you want to study God’s word that those pings start coming?

While this doesn’t have to do with a demonic influence all the time, we should discipline ourselves to concentrate and spend time in the word and in prayer. This is how not to make a mistake in that relationship. This is how to preserve your marriage. This is how to know for sure whether you are in God’s will or not. You see, God will say nothing to you apart from His word. The more that word dwells in you richly, the better.

Stay spiritual. Stay prayerful. Fast if you need to. Don’t spend all day doing carnal stuffs alone. Be aware that it is through your spirit that God will communicate to you and that it needs to be developed. Your spirit man needs to be trained. Your spirit man needs to be exercised in the things of God. That is what we try to do and help out by God’s spirit on KHC. Bringing God’s word daily to feed you and keep you standing by His grace and daily evening prayers to help you make sure the day is not gone without some spiritual exercise.

God will strengthen you more. I will conclude with this prayer for you;

14 For this cause I bow my knees unto the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ,
15 Of whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named,
16 That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man;
17 That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love,
18 May be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height;
19 And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.
20 Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us,
21 Unto him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus throughout all ages, world without end. Amen (Ephesians 3:14-21 KJV)

Partner with us Today. Pre-Order your Hardcopy Devotional. Check more ANNOUNCEMENTS HERE!

CONFESSION FOR THE DAY
Christ dwells in me by faith and I have understanding.

PRAYER FOR THE DAY
Ask God to open your eyes to see what you need to know

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY
And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God. And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.

ACTION PLAN FOR THE DAY
Read and study your Bible today

READ THROUGH THE BIBLE IN ONE YEAR
Jun 20: Ecc 7-1 (As the events occur in real time)

By Dunamis & Sophia Okunowo
+2348023507395, +2348177653228
Tags: spirit realm, vision, dreams
Email me when people comment – Follow
– See more at: http://kissesandhuggs.org/devotionals/the-reality-of-the-spiritual-realm-as-it-relates-to-your-relation#sthash.paTJSZjb.dpuf

Leave a Reply

